The region was established in the 1987 administrative reform, and until 2010 it comprised the 4 prefectures of AthensEast AtticaPiraeus and West Attica.

With the 2010 Kallikratis plan, the region’s powers and authority were completely redefined and extended. Since 1 January 2011, the region represents the second-level local administration. While being supervised by the Decentralized Administration of Attica, it is now an independent self-governing body with powers and a budget comparable to the former prefectures.

The Region of Attica is one of the 13 regions of Greece, consisting of the Prefecture of Attica, based in Athens and divided into the next eight regional sections:

  • Regional Unit of Central Athens
  • Regional Unit of South Athens
  • Regional Unit of North Athens
  • Regional Unit of West Athens
  • Regional Unit of Piraeus
  • Regional Unit of Islands
  • Regional Unit of West Attica
  • Regional Unit of East Attica